Faculty Profile for Dr. Caroline C Beatty

profile photo for Dr. Caroline C Beatty
Dr. Caroline C Beatty
Associate Professor — School of Music
MUS 151
phone: (512) 245-2485

Biography Section

Biography and Education

Caroline Beatty is Director of Bands and Associate Professor of Music at Texas State University. Her responsibilities include providing administration and oversight of the university band program, conducting the Wind Symphony, and teaching conducting and band literature courses. During the 2014-2015 academic year, she also served as Interim Conductor of the Texas State Symphony Orchestra. Performances under her direction garner consistent accolades from audience members, composers, and fellow performers for their artistry, excitement, beauty, and craft. While honoring the standard repertoire, Dr. Beatty actively invests in the commissioning and performance of new works. Recent commissioning projects and premiere performances have included compositions by Michael Ippolito, Robert Beaser, Carter Pann, Michael Daugherty, Margaret Brouwer, David Maslanka, Ryan Chase, and Alexandra Gardner. In 2017, Dr. Beatty was presented with the Texas State University Presidential Distinction Award for Teaching.

Dr. Beatty maintains a vibrant conducting and teaching schedule outside of the university. She recently served as Chief Adjudicator and Clinician for the Victoria School Music Festival in Melbourne, Australia and has been engaged as a conductor for composers’ recording projects and for various university wind ensembles and honor bands throughout the US. Her diverse teaching engagements have included serving as a conducting workshop clinician and providing presentations on a variety of educational and historical topics ranging from 19th century harmoniemusik, to music in American history, and conducting pedagogy. Additionally, she is a sought-after rehearsal clinician for secondary school bands.

Prior to her current position, Dr. Beatty held the position of Associate Director of Bands at Texas State University and Northwestern State University-Louisiana. Her secondary school teaching experience includes thirteen years as a high school band director in the Houston area. She holds the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Conducting from the University of Michigan and holds both a Master of Music degree in Instrumental Conducting and a Bachelor of Music degree in Music Education from The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Beatty is a member of the College Band Directors National Association, Texas Music Educators Association, Texas Bandmasters Association, and Phi Beta Mu International Band Fraternity.

Selected Scholarly/Creative Work

  • Conductor, Texas State Wind Symphony. March 24, 2018.
    • College Band Directors Nationa Association Southwest Division Conference. Moores Opera House, University of Houston, Houston, TX.
  • Conductor, Florida All-State Concert Band. January 10, 2018 - January 13, 2018.
    • Florida Music Educators Conference. Tampa, Florida.
  • Machine Become Music by Michael Ippolito. 2018.
  • TMEA Region 18 6A Symphonic Band. December 7, 2018 - December 8, 2018.
    • AISD Performing Arts Center, Austin, TX.
  • Conductor, Texas State Wind Symphony. November 30, 2018.
    • Evans Auditorium, San Marcos, TX.

Selected Awards

  • Award / Honor Recipient: Presidential Distinction in Teaching, Texas State University. August 2017
  • Award / Honor Recipient: Graduating Student Recognition of Campus Support, Texas State University. 2008 - 2016
  • Award / Honor Recipient: New Student Recognition of Campus Support, Texas State University. 2008 - 2014

Selected Grants

  • Babcock, Jonathan P (Co-Principal), Beatty, Caroline C (Principal). Gesture Matters, Texas State University Research Enhancement Program, Texas State University, $16000. (Funded: January 2017 - December 2017). Grant.

Selected Service Activities

Chief Adjudicator
Victoria Schools Music Festival
July 31, 2017-August 9, 2017
College Band Directors National Association Southwestern Division
School of Music NASM Review Task Force
September 2017-Present
School of Music Planning Group
August 2016-Present
School of Music Executive Personnel Commitee
August 2015-Present